Skip to main content

Let me start this off by saying I am not an expert.

I was over my friend's place this weekend. He has a 5.0 in a Ford GT. The intake he called a roadrunner intake - I am not sure what that is - but he flipped it 180 degress. The only issue is that there are 2 bosses for electrical wire harness hold downs. He said it was easy to modify those with a small grinder.

He also mentioned that the motor is SLIGHTLY narrower then a 4.6L. I believe he said 760mm across at the widest point.

Just the messenger.
Fabulous! Thanks Pantera2077 for a little more info. Any chance he or you took some pictures? Pictures are worth a thousand words.

Why, may I ask, did he put the 5.0 in his GT (which had an awesome dry-sump supercharged 5.4 in the first place), or was it a GT40 kit car?

I am excited to call my contact tomorrow- I believe he may have finally took some measurements for this over the weekend.

I also looked into the cost of the crate motor, shipped here at Westland Ford, a local dealer that also sells Ford Racing parts. It appears reasonable, but I'm also going to look for salvage motors.

I am tempted to go talk to a Ford dealer and see if they won't let me take some quick measurements with a tape measure. I'll probably go back to the same dealer since they sell the parts and will understand.
Sorry, no pics.
He already has one Ford GT that he put back together. He is building a car from scratch. Please understand that this effort is NOT a kit. Scratch means flat pieces of steel. Finally, he is restoring an original GT40 as well for a museum.

I am not sure what he is doing with this one. It too was a wreck and he is putting it back together. His work is amazing.

One of the online places had an engine assembly for $6100.

Have you thought about any issues with the oil pan and clearance there?