Skip to main content

Hello All:
I have a 72 pre L .Just went thru hurricane Harvey. Water covered the zf trans. stopping just above the vent tube. I can handle all the other problems myself. "But the zf?" I don't even want to attempt it. Can someone please give me some advice...Is this a butfoy issue? Tried searching for something similar to this situation before posting this but had no luck...

Thks.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I'm no expert on ZFs, so this is just an opinion, please others, let me know if wrong. But even salt water will have had a hard time getting anything to rust inside since everything is covered in oil. So maybe just change the oil/water to fresh oil and see what it does?

But wait until others agree/disagree?

Regardless, I would get any water out asap.

(Had a blown marine engine once, bust the head gasket, salt water in the oil. And since this was a boat, I couldn't just stop the engine, I had to use it to get to the harbour, with more and more salt water entering the oil. Eeker Same day, out of the water, home, valve covers off, removed all mayo I could see. Changed the oil 4 times that day. After 2 changes, I used a drill on a redone distributor that only ran the oil pump, so that the new oil went through the whole engine and turned engine by hand. Every time the oil that came out was more oil and less mayo. Put engine together again, and raced till the season ended. When the engine was taken apart over winter I found only one area, about half a square inch that looked rusty. Maybe a slight spot where the oil normally doesn't get to. It was a gamble, that time it paid off)
Hello Everyone: