Most likely a wire has come loose or a connection was disturbed when the cluster was removed and installed. As you've observed there are quite a few wires on the back of the cluster and its easy to pull one free.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .