Skip to main content

Hi guys. I'm new to the whole Pantera thing,
but love the car and am looking at one.

Question: What's a '74 worth ?
~120,000 miles on it.
~20,000 miles since ZF overhaul and full motor rebuild using SVO parts. Stroked 351C works out to ~406ci. Dyno'd at ~410HP.
-cooling upgrade (fans & rad) from Hall.
-no wing (boo, hiss) or wide body stuff.
-body off restoration about 10 years ago.
-no visible rust that I can see.

Looking for lots of opinions guys...
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Too many variables, not enough details to really say. Where is the car located? Chances are someone in the know is close enough to view it with you and then, and only then, could one get an honest price idea. You want ballpark with what you gave us? $25K - $40K There, now that didn't really help at all did it :-)

Someone may even know the car already. More details, please.

Larry
Here's a different way to approach the answer to your question:

How close is it to what you want it to be?

In other words, say you want a wing and a wing costs $1,500. Has ALL the parts that have rubber been replaced? Boots into and out of the interior, door jams, window moldings? Than could run another $1,000 +/-. A-arm bushings been replaced ($750 +/-)? Play in the steering wheel ($500-$1,000)? Brakes OK ($1,000 to $3,000 if rotors are bad and calipers are not good)?

Many cars with this type of mileage are steeply discounted. My most IMPORTANT question would be, where was the car driven over these last 30 +/- years. This is going to be the best indicator for rust. Detroit, NO SALE. Desert Southwest, California? Likely no rust. Push you thumb on the door jam just below the door striker plate, where it curves from vertical to horizontal, if it pushes through and you have to pull your thumb out, NO SALE.

What will it cost to get it to where you want it to be? Would it be less costly to just buy one that's 'there already'? Or do you love the car as it is?