Skip to main content

I created a cross-section layout for a hydraulic throwout bearing used on a Big Block Ford 460ci engine. Some may find this helpful. Although I used a Quicktime bellhousing, the bellhousing length is the same 4.5" as stock. The parts used are as follows:

-Ford Racing Big Block
-Ford Racing flywheel, M-6375-Z460
-Centerforce dual friction clutch, DF226033
-Quicktime bellhousing
-McLeod Racing hydraulic throwout bearing, 1402-22

From the layout you can see that there does not appear to be enough engagement between the hydraulic bearing unit and its threaded throwout bearing spacer. An additional spacer should probably be used.

To see the bearing mounted to the transaxle, see my picture gallary:

http://pantera.infopop.cc/eve/...50045562/m/441104217

Sincerely,

Matt

Attachments

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Matt, FWIW your McLeod throwout mechanism looks very similar to the Tilton assembly I've been using since 1992. Tilton supplied these with threaded aluminum front bearing retainers only for T-10s, Muncies and Jericho trannys for dirt track racing, so I built a billet ZF retainer and got the system to work with a 351-C. My problem was exactly opposite: with a stock clutch, flywheel & bellhousing, I had almost no 'spare' room between the outer end of the Tilton and the ZF bearing retainer, when things were adjusted per specs. Are you running a stock Ford motor-protection plate between the block & ZF? That plate introduces 0.190" more length to the system. If you felt confident the clutch would NEVER blow, you could dispense with the plate & suck the ZF & throwout in that much closer. Or just have someone make you a longer threaded front retainer.
Bosswrench,