Skip to main content

I know this subject has been done to death over the past ten years or so, so my apologies for re-visiting.

I have Le Mans style (GP4) wheels on my 72 Pantera. I have been running 244/70 R17's on the front and some (old) Pirelli 335/35 17's on the rear. Rear wheels are 10" wide.
I'm in New Zealand and I can have some choice for the fronts, but nobody has the rear size available here.
I can get some shipped from the US and wondered if anyone had experience with the following:
Nitto NT555 G2 Summer UHP Radial Tire 315/35R17
NANKANG AR1 AR-1 SEMI SLICK ROAD/TRACK TYRE 315/35/17
Michelin Pilot Sport PS2 335/35R17 106Y Max Performance Summer UHP Tires
Are there any Hoosier road-legal tires in this size?
Cheapest are the Nankang and my preference is for road/race (I do tarmac rallies) but I have no experience with these.
Any thoughts please?

Attachments

Images (1)
  • IMG_7532
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Isn't a 10" wide wheel too narrow for a 335/35-17? Perhaps a 284/40-17 or a 315/35-17 would be better.

Do you want a street tire or a road legal race tire? Apples and oranges! The most streetable of the road legal race tires, that you can get in 17" sizes, is the Nitto NT01 but it's still primarily a race tire. It's very close to a Toyo R888R but with more tread grooves cut into it. IMO the Nankang is too much of a race tire for the street.

I tried running Hoosier R8's on the street for a while but they drove me crazy because they pick up sand and small pebbles then let them go inside the wheel well when you get moving fast.